MF Doom drops a new track “Notebook 00 – Negus”


MF Doom is back with new music featuring Sean Price in a posthumous guest appearance on “Notebook 00 – Negus.”

“Notebook 00 – Negus”

Anytime MF Doom hops on the mic it’s cause for celebration. The new track features Sean Price who passed away in 2015. His posthumous album (“Imperious Rex”) came out on August 8th.

MF Doom’s track is a sign of things to come. He is working with Adult Swim to release fifteen new songs over the next fifteen weeks. Basically we’re going to get an album’s worth of MF Doom released one at a time for 3-4 months. The name of the album is “The Missing Notebook Rhymes.” All release dates are available here.

“Notebook 00 – Negus” is only three minutes long, the perfect amount of time to whet our appetites. Sean Price and MF Doom each have one verse on the track.


Just in case you don’t know who MF Doom is, you can go here and listen to one of the greatest hip-hop albums of the 00s. Madvillainy is peak Doom. On that album he teamed with Madlib, a frequent Doom collaborator and masterful producer. The album features classics like “Meat Grinder” and “Rhinestone Cowboy.”

That was in 2004. Since then Doom has released material here and there under several different monikers. His last solo album was released in 2009. He has, however, released three collaborative efforts in the last decade.

Doom is a singular figure in hip-hop. His performance style and aesthetic combine comic books, movies and rap. Stylistically and lyrically, Doom’s songs always push hip-hop conventions. His secrecy has helped grow his legend. Doom has even done things like used impostors to perform in his stead. With Doom, you literally never know what you’re going to get.

The next song will be out in a few days. Keep checking Lemonwire for more MF Doom updates.


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *